When you add a single or multiple shared keys to a domain, users can checkout those keys simultaneously based on how many users can access the shared key.
You can use the shared key feature to share any type of value with single or multiple users. The following are the scenarios to manage shared keys:
Multiple keys for multiple users: You can define multiple keys in a domain for multiple users and each shared key can have maximum user limit. During the checkout process, multiple users can checkout any of the available keys. The same key can be used multiple times till it reaches the user limit. For allowing other users The users must check in the key. To configure multiple users, refer Benefits of PAM Sniffer.
Single key for multiple users: You can define a single key in a domain for multiple users and assign the maximum user limit. During the checkout process, multiple users can checkout the same key till the key usage reaches the maximum limit. After reaching the maximum usage, Privileged Account Manager does not allow further checkout of the keys. A succeeding user can check out the key only after a user checks in the key.
Privileged Account Manager does not reset the values for the shared key when users check in the key. This is called key check-in.
The key check-ins are performed in the following ways:
User check-in: A user can check-in the key at any time. There is no restricted period to check in the key. You can view all the pending check-ins from Access Dashboard.
Force check-in: When an administrator forcibly checks in the key. This check-in is helpful when a user, who no longer requires the checked out key, has not checked in the key and another user requires the key. To force check-in of key, perform the following:
In Access Dashboard, click Enterprise Password Check out > Pending Check-ins.
Check for the Target endpoint for which you require the check-in, then click Check-In.