Clearing a drawing removes everything from the Layout view. However, nothing changes in the pane element hierarchy. The elements there remain intact.
To clear a drawing:
In the pane, click the element whose Layout drawing should be modified.
Select any element in any hierarchy.
Click the tab.
Right-click the background of the drawing, then select .
Everything is removed from the drawing and you are in Edit mode, ready to start the new drawing.