14.4 Caveats for Uninstalling OpenText eDirectory

When you uninstall OpenText eDirectory and install it again, the OpenText eDirectory server cannot be accessible to the other servers in the network. All the distributed operations such as synchronization and obituary processing do not take place on the partitions whose replicas are present in the OpenText eDirectory server. If this state persists for a while, it might impact all the servers and the processes running on them.

Avoid uninstalling a newer version of OpenText eDirectory and install an earlier version, because:

  • Does not revert the schema related upgrades.

  • OpenText eDirectory might not be functional if DIB is upgraded to the newer version.

  • Removes all the existing configuration files, except for the nds.conf.

However, consider the following when you uninstall a newer version of OpenText eDirectory and install an earlier version:

  • Upgrade the DIB to the newer version. Else, eDirectory might not be functional.

  • Back up the existing configuration files, except for the nds.conf, and restore when OpenText eDirectory is installed again.

  • Does not revert the schema related upgrades.