In Cloud Manager, a zone is a collection of virtual or cloud resources (such as RAM, disk space, computing power, networks, and so forth), that your Cloud Service Provider customers can employ as they provision Business Services through the Cloud Manager Console.
As the Cloud Administrator, you create a zone by defining a connection from the Cloud Manager Application Server to an internal (Cloud Manager Orchestration Server or OpenStack Server) cloud, or to an external (AWS) cloud. Each of these cloud environments is referred to as a “zone provider.”
To create a Cloud Manager Orchestration Server zone:
Specify the following information:
Name: Provide a name for the zone. This name is displayed in Cloud Manager to both administrators and users.
Description: If desired, add details to further identify the zone. The description is displayed in Cloud Manager to administrators only.
Enabled: Deselect this option to disable the zone. The primary purpose for disabling a zone is to perform maintenance tasks on the Orchestration Server without receiving error messages and exceptions in the Cloud Manager console because the server is down. While the zone is disabled, the following occurs:
Any objects (hosts, VM templates, and so forth) provided by the zone’s Orchestration Server are no longer displayed in Cloud Manager. However, Cloud Manager objects (resource groups, service levels, workload templates, and so forth) are still displayed.
A user receives a “Zone Disabled” error when adding, editing, or deleting any Cloud Manager object that includes an Orchestration Server object.
Any workloads deployed in the zone continue in their current state (unless an issue with the zone causes them to be stopped). The workload’s state displays as “Unknown” and the owner cannot cycle the workload.
NOTE:Although you can configure the zone in a “disabled” state, it needs to be accessible to the Cloud Manager Application Server at creation time so that Cloud Manager can discover various resources in the zone.
Retired: Select this option to retire the zone. Retired zones retain their configuration and workloads. You can import existing workloads or make change requests for them. However, you cannot provision new workloads for the zone. You can select this option when you create a zone in order to hide it from being used at this time.
Server URL: Using the https format, enter the DNS name or IP address of the Orchestration Server along with the port used by the Orchestration Server Web Service.
Username: Specify the Administrator user name that enables login to the Orchestration Server.
Password: Specify and confirm the password for the user name you supplied.
Click OK to add the zone to the Zones list.
NOTE:No associations of Cloud Manager objects are made with this zone until the connection to the Orchestration Server is established.