Here’s a helpful hint from Cool Solutions reader Darron Michael …

Deleting an app in ConsoleOne does not necessarily remove all traces. If a user has copied the app icon to their desktop, then they can still run the app, even after it has been deleted from NDS.

For example, I created a NAL application and delivered it via the NAL window to a user. The user selected the NAL app from the window and dragged it to the desktop, where it copied itself as a shortcut, complete with the red arrow that indicates it is a “delivered” application.

I later replaced this NAL app in NDS with a different one (even named differently) and deleted the old NAL app from NDS.

The old app’s shortcut remains on the desktop, still shows that it points to a now-non-existent NAL app, and it still works. So, my user was still using the old app instead of the new replacement.

It took a few times launching Consoleone and looking for the nonexistent app before I realized what was going on. Once I did, I just deleted the shortcut from their desktop like any “normal” shortcut.

0 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 5 (0 votes, average: 0.00 out of 5)
You need to be a registered member to rate this post.

Disclaimer: As with everything else at NetIQ Cool Solutions, this content is definitely not supported by NetIQ, so Customer Support will not be able to help you if it has any adverse effect on your environment.  It just worked for at least one person, and perhaps it will be useful for you too.  Be sure to test in a non-production environment.

Leave a Reply

No Comments
By: dmichael
Aug 16, 2006
12:00 am